Glenn Alexander – Guitar


Glenn Alexander, holds a B.M. from Wichita State University. He is widely recognized as a guitarist, composer and producer, having written for, performed and/or recorded with such artists as Chico Hamilton, L Shankar and the Epidemics, Levon Helm (Midnight Rambles) Jan Hammer, Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes, Max Weinberg 7, Late Night with Conan O’Brien, The Mahavishnu Project, Elvis Costello & Allen Toussaint (Midnight Rambles), Brenda Russell, Phil Perry, Regina Belle, Bruce Springsteen, Labamba & the Hubcaps, Labamba Big Band, Jon Bon Jovi, Tom Scott, T Lavitz and Dave LaRue(Dixie Dregs), Dottie Peoples & The Mighty Clouds of Joy (Gospel Songs of Bob Dylan), Jerry Hahn, Mark Pender Band, Phoebe Snow, Michael Bolton, Darlene Love, Adrian Belew, Lisa Loeb, Billy Burnette, Jane Ira Bloom, Judy Collins, Randy Brecker, Mark Egan, Danny Gottlieb, Doug Wimbish, Gerald Veasley, Manolo Badrena, Mino Cinelu, TM Stevens, Kermit Driscoll, Matt Wilson, Liza Minnelli, Joel Grey, and many others.

He has performed on and written countless TV commercials and movie scores. Played on the soundtrack of the Spike Lee Movie, Four Little Girls. Attained worldwide airplay and critical acclaim on recordings featuring his performances as well as his own compositions: Stretch, Glenn Alexander, Inside Out (The Connection), Rainbow’s Revenge (Glenn Alexander), Oria (Glenn Alexander), Naked Movies (The Coalition), We Remember Pastorius, Hub City Kid (Dave LaRue), Heroes (Michael Davis), Street News (Bob Magnuson), Gotta Serve Somebody (Gospel Songs of Bob Dylan, featuring Dylan), Mark Pender Band, Guitar on the Edge, Vol. 4., Everything is Fine (Alice Ripley), Men I’ve Had (Sherie Rene), Model Prisoner (Adam Pascal), Return to the Emerald Beyond (Mahavishnu Project) Belonging (Jane Barnett) & “The Other Side of Time” for Mary Fahl, Southside Johnny (Grapefruit Moon), Terry Silverlight (Diamond In The Riff), Mahavishnu Project (Return to the Emerald Beyond). He produced the CD Time Changes, for legendary guitarist Jerry Hahn, featuring Dave Liebman, Steve Laspina and others. He recorded 13 songs by & for Paul Simon arranged by Howard Morgan for solo jazz guitar.

Currently writing, recording and performing with Oria Aspen, Dave LaRue of the Steve Morse Band and several other projects such as his group The Coalition with Scott Healy (keys with the Conan O’Brien Show), featuring Michael Merritt (bass with Conan O’Brien) and Shawn Pelton (Drums with Saturday Night Live) which has a release Naked Movies out on Fractal Records, The Glenn Alexander Trio featuring Kermit Driscoll & Terry Silverlight, Duo with Bob Magnuson & performing around the world with Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes. Mr. Alexander studied with Jerry Hahn, Pat Martino and John Scofield, is Head of Jazz studies at Sarah Lawrence College, and served on the faculty at the New School University for 18 years.

Copyright © Humblebrag 4tet 2013